Week 6 – Custom 75 Studio Signal Flow

Hey guys, for this blog I will explaining how I set up the Custom 75 Studio for recording. I will be discussing how I record vocals and then apply reverb to them by using the Lexicon hardware effects unit.

IMG_0406
The Custom 75 Desk all set up

I chose to work on this desk for this blog post because I have been fascinated by it since it arrived on campus and thought it would be a good idea to really understand how to use it to set up a signal flow. The first things I did was set up the studio itself and ran Pro Tools on it. I then set up a microphone in the recording booth opposite. I chose to use the AKG C414 XLS as it is excellent in capturing the clarity of a vocal.

IMG_0409
The AKG C414 XLS set up in the recording booth

I plugged it into input channel “A9” in the  booth to allow the signal to enter channel 9 on the desk. As the AKG is a condenser microphone, I had to press 48V on the desk to enable phantom power. I also set the input on the desk to “mic” to give it the order to record. I then set the input and output to channel 9 on Pro Tools to allow it to record, and subsequently monitor the oncoming signal.

 

After record arming the channel, I pressed record and began the short walk to the recording room to record the vox. The result was this:

After recording the vocal, I decided to use the LexiconMX200 effects unit to show how a hardware unit can add reverb to a signal. I had to patch it as an auxiliary effect, and so I sent it to Aux channels 1 and 2 (1 being left and 2 being right) and also the reverb returns as it was a stereo effect. I selected the “Large Plate” reverb setting and began to adjust it until I deemed it fitting for my voice.

IMG_0415

 

The next step was bouncing the reverb and I will admit it was a challenge figuring out how to do it. Eventually I made a stereo channel and set the input to “C75 Main Mix” to allow it to record the entire monitor mix. The result was this:

Hopefully doing this exercise has helped appreciate the process of setting up a signal flow as well as processing it through the use of hardware effects units.

 

 

Leave a Reply

