Making a Big Bang

For my first task, I had to construct a 30 second track that represents the Big Bang that created the universe. I was given a time limit of 30 minutes. I chose to drop a bunch of ‘spacey’ atmospheric samples and an explosion sample into Pro Tools, structure the track and mix the arrangement accordingly. This was the result:

The aim was to create suspense before the boom. I actually enjoyed making it but I did wish I had more time to mix it better. The explosion sample I used was very loud and I had to compress it to allow it to fit with the other tracks. It was a bit challenging because I had to adjust the threshold to ensure that the explosion did not sound over-compressed.

This task helped me gain further experience in constructing a song to a brief within a certain time limit as well as get more familiar with using Pro Tools.

Leave a Reply

